2013 in review; Happy New Year

A third year gone? I did not expect this blog to have survived this long. Or to have travelled to so many amazing places since I started it. So 2013 was a pretty good year; I only managed to stay on the road for about half of it though. This time last year I was in Taupo, New Zealand. From there I flew to Singapore, then into Thailand for Songkran – the Thai New Year in April. I travelled up Thailand and into Laos, then back down to Bangkok where I met up with a surprising number of old friends, plus a few new ones. Although I did also end up staying in a run down guesthouse with roaches climbing the walls too, so swings and roundabouts I guess. Having been away from home for about two years it was time to head back, so in late May I flew back to England, via Sri Lanka.

Since getting home I’ve had holidays in Devon, Brussels, Greece and Spain, and have travelled around a lot of England catching up with old friends and people I’ve met abroad. It’s been a fun year. And I got to have Christmas at home, my first in the Northern Hemisphere for a couple of years.

Being a bit more stable this year has meant I managed to update the blog a bit more frequently than previous years, although it has admittedly been neglected for the past few months. WordPress have sent me through the end of year stats again, so I’ve got those below. I’ve got a few more posts semi-written, so hopefully this will prompt me to finish those, and write up some more of my notes.

I’m not sure what 2014 will bring, but hopefully it’ll be as much of an adventure as 2013.

Happy New Year everyone, and click below to see a report of my most popular posts, and other stats.

Here’s an excerpt:

A San Francisco cable car holds 60 people. This blog was viewed about 2,200 times in 2013. If it were a cable car, it would take about 37 trips to carry that many people.

Click here to see the complete report.

This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

