2012 in review

Happy New Year! Ngā mihi o te Tau Hou

I hope that you all had a great New Years Eve. Mine wasn’t as much fun as last year, but Christmas was far better. After a fun Christmas Eve, involving huge pots of mulled wine and drinking along with Die Hard (drink every time someone dies, drink every time someone talks on a walkie talkie, drink every time glass smashes, drink for every Christmas decoration on screen…), I woke up in time to have pancakes with bacon for breakfast.

Bubbles for breakfast

and bubbles for breakfast

The rest of the day was filled, as is traditional, with eating and drinking too much, and capped off with a game of beer football (which is normal football with a beer in hand at all times, no spilling) which we won against our sister hostel 3-2. After the game a dozen of us went down to Taupo’s hot spring, where a boiling hot geothermal stream meets the freezing cold Waikato River. Finding a warm mid-point, we relaxed with wine.

.

.

.

.

By the time New Year’s Eve rolled around, I’d got a job. I’m currently serving in a restaurant in town, and I was there until 11:45. It wasn’t too bad, as I sat around having a couple of beers while we waited for the last table to leave, and it gave me time to get to the waterfront for the fireworks (which went off at 12:09). And then to an Irish bar until the wee hours of the morning.

The impetus for posting this is that once again, the WordPress stats helper monkeys prepared a 2012 annual report for the blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

600 people reached the top of Mt. Everest in 2012. This blog got about 2,300 views in 2012. If every person who reached the top of Mt. Everest viewed this blog, it would have taken 4 years to get that many views.

Click here to see the complete report.

I’ve also calculated a few stats of my own. I’ve been trying to keep a running total of the distances that I’ve travelled so far, and the current total stands at 60,215!

Over sixty thousand kilometres travelled! Wow. I’ve come a long, long way since leaving England. In order for me to be able to state it down to the nearest kilometre, I’ve done some maths. If I can find out the actual distance, for example via the distances published by train companies, I’ve been using those. If not, I’ve been using google maps to measure (or sometimes approximate) the distances travelled. So it’s not going to be hugely accurate, but I don’t think the values I’ve come up with are too bad.

I’ve been using kilometres, because it’s easier and I kinda like SI units, but it’s a total of 37,416 miles. As context, if I’d gone in a straight line I would have arrived here in Taupo after only covering a third of the distance, or I could’ve flown from London to New York and back over five times. The circumference of the globe is a mere 40,075km, which means that if I flew directly home, I’d have travelled roughly twice the way around the whole planet.

That 60K has been pretty evenly split between overland and flying, with 29,717km travelled overland (including boats, cars, trains etc.), and 30,498km travelled by plane. I managed to travel 14,623km before getting on a plane – St Petersburg to Ho Chi Minh City.

I’ve only covered 7,819km under my own steam- mostly by car, but 1,899km by motorbike.

By country, I’ve covered by far the most distance within Australia, at 20,469km. Unsurprising, as I spent a whole year there. This is against 6,038km inside Russia, the next furthest distance. China, Vietnam, The Philippines and Japan are all at a couple of thousand kilometres each. All of those only refer to distances travelled within the countries, not when travelling to the next.

What a year! Bring on 2013.

This entry was posted in New Zealand, Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

