Some Housekeeping

Apologies for not writing more about my travels. This post is a quick break to add a couple of notes on the running of the blog, and questions on how to improve it.

Length-
Is the length of each blog post alright? It’s hard for me to judge, as so far I’ve been pretty much writing all of it on my phone, so it feels hugely long and overly verbose. How is it for you guys?

Photos-
They’re going to come slowly for a while, as I need a pc to upload them. Are there too many, not enough? Also, you should be able to click on them to enlarge them, and they all have a mouse-over alt-text.

Updates-
So far, the only effective methods of keeping updated with the blog are:
1. Check it often.
2. Be friends with me on facebook, and I’ll tell you.
3. Use the RSS feed on the right. This is the most effective, but only if you have, or want to set up, a RSS feed reader.
I’m looking into setting up email notifications, but I don’t really know the best way to do so.

Comments-
I don’t know what it’s like trying to leave comments on here. Carly, for one, had issues with it. Please persevere with it, I very much enjoy hearing from you. I think as it currently stands, the first comment you make has to be approved by me (and none have been rejected yet), and then any further ones get uploaded instantly. That doesn’t give you carte blanche, and it’s not a challenge! I don’t know whether you get updated when I reply to comments, but I’ve been replying to most of them, so check back often!

Map-
I want to add a map with my route on it, like Laura and Carly have. Anyone know how to do that?

So, talk to me! Sound off in the comments below, and tell me how to make this better!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Some Housekeeping

  1. Post more photos. Very interesting to read your blog about my hometown.

  2. annehome says:

    Not too verbose and I like the photos which add to the text. I will happily read more and am looking forward to the next installment. Is there a photo of the golden eagle? Always after reading your blog I have lots of questions so that must be good. What was the countryside like or were you asleep, (was it night) through most of it? Comments I have had from others of my generation, is that they are enjoying your writing. Maybe they too will start commenting.

  3. Hi Jonathan,
    I think you have got it about right with photos and words – but you could do some shorter text only updates or comments about particular things/people in between the long pieces. That way we don’t have to wait too long ….

  4. Hey Mong,

    I’m very much enjoying the blog! Lengths are pretty spot on to be honest, I’ve just got a bookmark to the site and check every so often, if I miss one I just read two! As for commenting its easy – just clicked log into facebook and then post comment, easy!

    When I get a chance I’ll have a look at the mapping for you, I could definitely knock something up on paint and you could presumably upload as a photo? Or maybe you could embed a google maps thing somehow? Again I’ll have a look into it!

    Glad you’re having a good time anyway, look forward to the next post!

    Mike

  5. Nope, that didn’t work. It can definitely be done with Google Maps but not like that!! Haha. there is quite a bit of stuff on it, I’ll have a proper look when I’m not full of food and wine…

  6. Laura says:

    I agree with Myke, very well structured, though I feel there should be more stories of your daftness. And don’t try and claim there aren’t any 😉

    I was reading this on my phone so I didn’t know who wrote the comment until the end. Only I knew it was Myke because the suggested solution to the map was Paint. Always paint…. 🙂

  7. Sean says:

    Lengths are good. More photos! Maybe work in a flickr component or do a tumblr alongside this? Also I think you should taking your BAC at appropriate junctures. Just so we can get a feel for the level of impairment we’re dealing with.

    And ALT TEXT! LIKE XKCD!

    • I’m not sure how to incorporate flickr. And tumblr would probably stop me from bothering to actually write anything. I’ll investigate flickr when I have access to a pc for a decent length of time. maybe when I come by HK.

      And yes, that was my main inspiration. Sadly I’m nowhere near as funny as him.

  8. This may or may not work – depends if this it html-y!

  9. Yeah i’m agreeing with Myke and Flora. All enjoyable and right length and number of photos etc Keep up the good work sir and glad you’re having a good time!

  10. Liz Ogden says:

    hello Jonathan
    really enjoying the blog. Great photos. Like your comments. Vastness of Russia nicely conveyed. Sets my imagination running…
    Liz

Leave a Reply

